top of page

Thanks for submitting!

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Thanks for submitting!

  • tricitiesparks

Best Places to See Baby Ducks (and Geese)

Ok I'll admit it: when I see cute baby birds I am known to go gaga over how cute they are. Taking your kiddos to see baby ducks is tons of fun and can be a great chance have a talk about respecting wildlife and why habitat protection is important.


I have a special place in my heart for the time of year when baby ducks come out, as in late May 2017 I was nine months pregnant, heavily hormonal and got misty eyes every time I saw baby ducks with their mamas. To this day seeing them reminds me of waiting for my daughter to arrive. They grow up so quickly, much like our own kids, so be sure to get outside to see them while you can!


Here are some of the best sports to see baby ducks right now.


1. Lafarge Lake, Coquitlam There is a designated duck area with benches, and the under one kilometer walk around the lake is great for strollers or little legs. Keep an eye out for turtles, geese and sometimes even coyotes while in the area.

2. Como Lake Park, Coquitlam Not only does this park have a great fenced in lot for tots, there are lovely trails, places to fish and lots of places to spot ducklings.

3. Blakeburn Lagoons Park, Port Coquitlam Also a great spot to see geese.

4. Burnaby Lake Bird Sanctuary, Burnaby Thanks to my pal Josie for tipping me off about this one! Located just behind the Costco this is a great way to make a family trip to our favourite box store more fun. Beyond ducks, this area has many species of birds.





Remember, as the BC SPCA warns wildlife feeding can lead to more harm than good. It's really harmful to feed wild birds, so save those bread chunks and turn them into delicious croutons for your next salad instead.

Where are your favorite places to see ducks? Comment below or fill out the "share a park" submission form :).

402 views0 comments
bottom of page